29th Annual MFS Conference - A preliminary version of the conference program is now available online
read more »
29th Annual MFS Conference - A preliminary version of the conference program is now available online
read more »
Congratulations to Professors: Iordanis Karagiannidis and G. Geoffrey Booth
read more »
General Information

29th Annual Conference of the
Multinational Finance Society

July 2-5, 2023 Paphos, Cyprus

Paper Submission is now closed

(Registration is open for only non-presenting participants)


Douglas Cumming - J.D., Ph.D., CFA, DeSantis Distinguished Professor of Finance and Entrepreneurship at the College of Business, Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton, Florida
Gady Jacoby - Dean of the School of Economics, College of Management Academic Studies


Maria Psillaki
- University of Piraeus, Greece
Andreas Hadjixenophontos – Neapolis University Pafos, Cyprus
Panayiotis Theodossiou - Ball State University, USA


Ball State University, Miller College of Business, Indiana, USA
Neapolis University Pafos, Cyprus


The objective of the conference is to bring together academic researchers, educators, doctoral students and practitioners from various international institutions to focus on timely financial issues and research findings pertaining to industrialized and developing countries including the recent financial and economic crisis.


Papers in all areas of finance, accounting and economics dealing with developed and developing countries are welcome. Specific topics include, but are not limited to: Asset Pricing; Banking; Behavioral Finance; Buyouts; Capital Structure; CDS; Commodities; Contagion in Financial Markets; Corporate Governance; Corporate Restructuring; Cost of Bankruptcy; Credit Scoring Models; Cross Listing; Derivatives; Emerging Markets; Entrepreneurial and Start-up Financing; Executive Compensation; Financial Accounting; Financial Analysts; Financial Reporting; FinTech; FX Arbitrage; Investment Banking; IPOs; M&As; Macro Finance; Market Efficiency; Market Microstructure; Payout Policy; Portfolio Management; Real Options; Regulation; Risk Measurement; Scale-up Financing; Shipping Finance; Term Structure of Interest Rates; Trading Behavior; Valuation; and Volatility.


The Multinational Finance Society is offering special tutorial lectures for advanced finance doctoral students working on their dissertations. Following the lectures participating students will have the opportunity to discuss their research with our feature speakers and other senior members. Financial support will be provided to a limited number of registered doctoral students not sponsored by their institutions.


Please visit our website at to submit a copy of a completed or nearly completed paper or a detailed dissertation proposal (PDF format) by January 15th, 2023.

The cover page should include the affiliation, address, phone and email of each author. Each participant agrees to serve as a discussant of a paper of his/her own area of interest, if needed.

Please include of whether you would like your paper to be considered for any of the awards mentioned below. Only completed papers qualify for any of the awards.

PAPER AWARDS (availability to be determined)

Best Paper Award
(prize 750 EUR)
(Open to all papers presented at the conference)

Best Doctoral Paper Award
(prize 500 EUR)
(Open to all thesis papers presented at the conference)

Past Winners


Registrations fee by March 5th, 2023 is EUR295 and by April 15th, 2023 is EUR355.00. Registration fee after April 15, 2023 is 20% extra (EUR425.00). For doctoral students, a discount of EUR100 applies. Registered participants can attend all social functions. Registration fee includes Sunday’s tour of the city, gala dinner, reception, lunche(s) and four coffee breaks during the conference, wherever applicable.
Note: Organizers reserve the right to change any pricing, benefits, rewards, etc. of any services.

Papers registered after April 15th, 2023 cannot be considered for the awards.


Information regarding the conference, accommodations, feature speakers, travel arrangements, fees and other activities will be published on the MFS website as needed. Information about past conference can be found on the website as well.


Neapolis University Pafos
2 Danais Ave, 8042
Paphos, Cyprus


Sagi Akron - University of Haifa, Israel
Yakov Amihud - NYU-Stern, USA
Andreas Andrikopoulos - University of Piraeus, Greece
George Athanassakos - University of Western Ontario, Canada
Balasingham Balachandran - La Trobe University, Australia
Keren Bar-Hava - Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
Wolfgang Bessler - University of Hamburg, Germany
Laurence Booth - University of Toronto, Canada
Christian Bucio - Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico, Mexico
Alejandra Cabello - Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico
Jeffrey Lawrence Callen - University of Toronto, Canada
George Constantinides - University of Chicago, USA
Chanaka Edirisinghe - Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA
Elyas Elyasiani - Temple University, USA
Stephen Ferris - Ball State University, USA
Dan Galai - Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
Zhaoyang Gu - Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Gikas Hardouvelis - University of Piraeus, Greece
Can Inci - Bryant University, USA
Petko Kalev - La Trobe University, Australia
Mehmet Karan - Hacettepe University, Turkey
Kyriaki Kosmidou - Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
Dimitrios Kousenidis - Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece

Yoram Kroll - Ono Academic College (OAC), Israel
Lawrence Kryzanowski - Concordia University, Canada
Haim Kedar-Levy – Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Radu Lupu - Bucharest University of Economic Studies, Romania
Anastasios Malliaris - Loyola University Chicago, USA
Minna Martikainen - University of Vaasa, Finland
Robert Mathieu - Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada
Roni Michaely - Cornell University, USA
Yevgeny Mugerman - Bar-Ilan University, Israel
Sylvia Muzzioli - University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy
Christos Negakis - University of Macedonia, Greece
Edgar Ortiz - Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico
Mateusz Pipień - Cracow University of Economics, Poland
Leszek Preisner – PWSZ, Krosno, Poland 
Błażej Prusak - Gdansk University of Technology, Poland
Maria Psillaki – University of Piraeus, Greece
Wendy Rotenberg - University of Toronto, Canada
Miriam Sosa, Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana – Iztapala, Mexico
Lorne Switzer - Concordia University, Canada

Malick Sy - RMIT University, Australia
Samuel Szewczyk - Drexel University, USA
Uwe Walz - Goethe University of Frankfurt, Germany
Zvi Wiener - Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
Ania Zalewska - University of Bath, UK
Miriam Sosa, Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana – Iztapala, Mexico

Maria Psillaki - University of Piraeus, Greece
Pantelis Sklias - Neapolis University Pafos, Cyprus
Andreas Hadjixenophontos – Neapolis University Pafos, Cyprus
Soteria Charalambous – Neapolis University Pafos, Cyprus
Demetra Demetriou – Neapolis University Pafos, Cyprus
Despina Konstantinides – Neapolis University Pafos, Cyprus


Copyright © 2010. All rights reserved. Multinational Finace Society. Design and Development by: Exarsis Business Solutions Ltd.

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.