7th Spring Conference of the Multinational Finance Society

April 19-21, 2019, Chania, Crete, Greece Submission Deadline: December 7, 2018



Multinational Finance Society: A non-profit organization established in 1995 for the advancement and dissemination of financial knowledge and research findings pertaining to industrialized and developing countries among members of the academic and business communities.

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS

TBA

PROGRAM CHAIRS

Chrysovalantis Gaganis - University of Crete, Greece Panayiotis Theodossiou - CUT, Cyprus Constantin Zopounidis - Technical University of Crete, Greece

SPONSORING INSTITUTIONS

School of Production Engineering and Management, Technical University of Crete, Greece Department of Economics, University of Crete, Greece University of Macedonia, Greece

CONFERENCE OBJECTIVE

The objective of the conference is to bring together academic researchers, educators, doctoral students and practitioners from various international institutions to focus on timely financial issues and research findings pertaining to industrialized and developing countries including the recent financial and economic crisis.

AREAS OF INTEREST

Papers in all areas of finance, accounting and economics dealing with developed and developing countries are welcome. Specific topics include, but are not limited to: Asset Pricing; Banking; Behavioral Finance; Buyouts; Capital Structure; CDS; Commodities; Contagion in Financial Markets; Corporate Governance; Corporate Restructuring; Cost of Bankruptcy; Credit Scoring Models; Cross Listing; Derivatives; Emerging Markets; Entrepreneurial and Start-up Financing; Executive Compensation; Financial Accounting; Financial Analysts; Financial Reporting; FinTech; FX Arbitrage; Investment Banking; IPOs; M&As; Macro Finance; Market Efficiency; Market Microstructure; Payout Policy; Portfolio Management; Real Options; Regulation; Risk Measurement; Scale-up Financing; Shipping Finance; Term Structure of Interest Rates; Trading Behavior; Valuation; and Volatility.

DOCTORAL STUDENT TUTORIALS AND PRESENTATIONS

The Multinational Finance Society is offering special tutorial lectures for advanced finance doctoral students working on their dissertations. Following the lectures participating students will have the opportunity to discuss their research with our feature speakers and other senior members. Financial support will be provided to a limited number of registered doctoral students not sponsored by their institutions.

PAPER AND THESIS SUBMISSION GUIDELINES

Please visit our website at http://www.mfsociety.org to submit a copy of a completed or nearly completed paper or a detailed dissertation proposal (PDF format) by December 7, 2018.

The cover page should include the affiliation, address, phone and email of each author. Each participant agrees to serve as a discussant of a paper of his/her own area of interest, if needed.

Please include of whether you would like your paper to be considered for any of the awards mentioned below. Only completed papers qualify for any of the awards.

PAPER AWARDS

Best Paper Award (prize 600 USD) (Open to all papers presented at the conference)

Best Doctoral Paper Award (prize 400 USD) (Open to all thesis papers presented at the conference)

REGISTRATION FEE

Registrations fee by January 11, 2019 is €250 and by February 8, 2019 is €300. Registration fee after February 8, 2019 is 20% extra. For doctoral students, a discount of €90 applies. Registered participants can attend all social functions during the conference.

Papers registered after February 8 cannot be considered for the awards.

FURTHER INFORMATION

Information regarding the conference, accommodations, feature speakers, travel arrangements, fees and other activities will be published on the MFS website as needed. Information about past conference can be found on the website as well.

VENUE

TBA

PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Meni Abudy - Bar-Ilan University, Israel Sagi Akron - University of Haifa, Israel Andreas Andrikopoulos - University of the Aegean, Greece George Athanassakos - University of Western Ontario, Canada Wolfgang Bessler - Justus-Liebig University Giessen, Germany Laurence Booth - University of Toronto, Canada Jeffrey Lawrence Callen - University of Toronto, Canada Ephraim Clark - Middlesex University Business School, UK George Constantinides - University of Chicago, USA Michalis Doumpos - Technical University of Crete, Greece Chanaka Edirisinghe - Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA Eti Einhorn - Tel Aviv University, Israel Elyas Elyasiani - Temple University, USA Anthony Yanxiang Gu - State University of New York, USA Gikas Hardouvelis - University of Piraeus, Greece Kris Jacobs - C.T. University of Houston, USA Petko Kalev - La Trobe University, Australia Olga Kandinskaia - CIIM, Cyprus Mehmet Karan - Hacettepe University, Turkey Johan Knif - Hanken School of Economics, Finland Dimitrios Kousenidis - Aristotle University, Greece Yoram Kroll - Ono Academic College (OAC), Israel Lawrence Kryzanowski - Concordia University, Canada Shiki Levy - Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel Radu Lupu - Bucharest University of Economic Studies, Romania Didier Maillard - CNAM, France Anastasios Malliaris - Loyola University Chicago, USA Minna Martikainen - Hanken School of Economics, Finland Roni Michaely - Cornell University, USA Nikolaos T. Milonas - University of Athens, Greece Yevgeny Mugerman - Bar-Ilan University, Israel Louis Murray - University College Dublin, Ireland Silvia Muzzioli - University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy Christos Negakis - University of Macedonia, Greece Edgar Ortiz - Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico Dan Palmon - The State University of New Jersey, Rutgers Fotis Pasiouras - Montpellier Business School, France Dionisis Philippas - ESSCA Grand Ecole de Management, France Nikolaos Philippas - University of Piraeus, Greece Leszek Preisner - AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland Frank Skinner - Brunel University, UK Stella Spilioti - Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece Samuel Szewczyk - Drexel University, USA Uwe Walz - Goethe University of Frankfurt, Germany Dan Weiss - Tel Aviv University, Israel Zvi Wiener - Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel Yildiray Yildirim - Baruch College-CUNY, USA Ania Zalewska - University of Bath, UK

LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Ioanna Atsalaki - Technical University of Crete, Greece George Fakotakis - Technical University of Crete, Greece Stavroula Sarri - Technical University of Crete, Greece